Exchange review

Crypto.com in Ireland: availability, licence and fees

Crypto.com is available to Irish customers through its Maltese entity. The Irish registration people mention was a 2024 anti-money-laundering one, and the headline fees sit above most rivals.

Status check, 5 Oct 2026: CEX.IO says it is not onboarding new EU/EEA customers while its MiCA application is under review in Spain, so confirm availability for Irish residents first. Crypto is high-risk and you can lose all the money you put in. Read our status notes.

Founded 2013PCI DSS Level 1 certificate (Mar 2026)UK FCA-registered · US FinCEN MSB
A yellow payment card held over a table
On this page
  1. Checking availability yourself
  2. The 2024 Irish registration, put straight
  3. What it costs
  4. Coins, verification, OTC
  5. The card ecosystem, and what this review leaves out
  6. Security, incidents and tax
  7. Funding from an Irish bank, in euro
  8. Mistakes to avoid
  9. Who it suits, and who it does not
  10. How to verify this yourself

Crypto.com is available to Irish customers, and the company serving them is Foris DAX MT Limited, authorised under MiCA by Malta's financial regulator, the MFSA. The ESMA register shows the authorisation dated 27 January 2025, with Ireland among the service countries. If you have seen a headline about Crypto.com and the Central Bank of Ireland, that was a different thing, and it matters enough to explain below. First, the availability checks, because that is the question most people type into a search box.

Checking availability yourself

Whether a company "works in Ireland" is a different question from whether it is allowed to serve you, and you can test both in a few minutes. Here is the order we use.

  1. Find the contracting entity

    On Crypto.com's EEA site, the licences page names Foris DAX MT Limited, Malta, company number C 88392, as the entity for EEA customers. Foris MT Limited, a separate Maltese e-money institution (C 90348), is named for the cash account and Visa card.

  2. Check the register

    Download ESMA's interim register CSV and search for "Foris DAX". You are looking for the MFSA as home regulator and IE in the list of service countries.

  3. Check the payment pages

    Crypto.com's help article on SEPA deposits and withdrawals lists the Republic of Ireland among the countries covered. That is evidence for the euro route, not for every product.

  4. Check the product you want

    Cards, earn products and the on-chain wallet each have their own terms. Do not assume the exchange's status carries over.

We read these pages on 5 October 2026. The Maltese licence number itself is not printed on the page we read, which refers to a "Class 2" CASP licence under MiCA, so we do not quote a number.

The 2024 Irish registration, put straight

In June 2024 Crypto.com announced that it had been registered by the Central Bank of Ireland as a virtual asset service provider. It dates from 11 June 2024. That regime was about anti-money-laundering supervision only. It did not give the company a MiCA authorisation, and it did not carry passporting rights. The Central Bank has said that its VASP transitional period ended on 29 and 30 December 2025, after which VASPs had to cease operating unless they obtained MiCA authorisation.

The company's press release says nothing about an Irish office or staff, and while job adverts for Dublin roles exist, we could not verify a Dublin office. So "Crypto.com is registered in Ireland" is accurate for a 2024 AML registration and misleading as a statement about who authorises your account today. The Malta authorisation is the one that matters. Our explainer on the Central Bank and MiCA sets out how Irish-authorised and passported firms differ, and the list of firms authorised in Ireland shows who holds Irish authorisations.

What it costs

Crypto.com's EEA fee and limits page, read on 5 October 2026, lists these euro figures.

ItemListed atLimits
SEPA bank deposit0%Min €1, max €1,000,000
Debit or credit card3.99%Min €10, max €40,000 a month
Apple Pay or Google Pay3.99%Min €10, max €40,000 a month
Trading fee (buy, sell, exchange)0.8%Spread not stated
SEPA withdrawal€1Min €80; max €100,000 a day, €500,000 a month

The page's own headline for card purchases says "up to 4%". A €500 card purchase at 3.99% costs €19.95 as a deposit fee. The 0.8% trading fee on €500 is €4. We did not establish whether both apply to a single card purchase, nor how large the spread is on top, since the page does not state it. The only reliable method is to compare the order preview with a price site. By contrast, a SEPA deposit has no listed fee, which is the largest saving in the table. Revolut Pay is not listed.

Compared with other EU platforms in our research, these rates are on the high side: several rivals list card fees between roughly 1% and 2%, and trading fees below 0.5%. Our fee comparison has the side-by-side figures.

Coins, verification, OTC

The app's buy section says more than 400 supported cryptocurrencies, which is the company's own figure. Verification is required, and euro transfers are activated after it. The separate OTC desk is for institutional and VIP accounts, with ticket sizes from USD 100 to USD 5,000,000 and no extra fee stated, so it is not aimed at ordinary Irish buyers; our OTC page covers desks that are.

The card ecosystem, and what this review leaves out

Crypto.com is widely known for a Visa card linked to a cash account issued by Foris MT Limited, the Maltese e-money institution. We could not confirm that the card is offered to Irish residents, and we did not capture current reward tiers or fees. So we make no claim about them. If you are thinking of spending crypto by card, see our crypto debit cards page and guide to spending crypto, which explain that each spend is a taxable disposal.

Security, incidents and tax

We did not find on a primary page a cold-storage percentage or a proof-of-reserves report, so we make no claim about either. Our notes mention a security incident in January 2022 reported at around USD 34 million; we could not confirm it from a company page (the URL we tried returned a 404), so treat it as unverified and search for the company's own statement if it matters to you. We found no regulatory action against the Maltese entity on the primary pages we read.

Irish tax does not depend on the exchange. Swaps and spending are disposals for CGT at 33% above the €1,270 annual exemption; our tax guide has the details, and Budget 2027 on 6 October 2026 is a reason to re-check rates. We did not test Crypto.com's tax export. DAC8 reporting by authorised providers began on 1 January 2026, with first returns due on 31 May 2027.

Funding from an Irish bank, in euro

For most Irish readers the sensible route is SEPA. The fee page lists a 0% deposit fee and a €1 minimum, so a €300 transfer from an AIB, Bank of Ireland, PTSB or neobank account arrives without a deposit charge from Crypto.com. Your own bank may add its own charges or checks, and some banks query payments to crypto firms; if yours does, our page on why banks block crypto transfers explains how to respond. The bank account must be in your own name and match your verified identity.

Compare that with a card. The same €300 by card at 3.99% would cost €11.97 in deposit fee. Over a year of monthly €300 top-ups, that is about €143.64 spent on the deposit route alone, against nothing on SEPA. Those numbers do not include the 0.8% trading fee or the spread, which apply whichever route you choose, and the arithmetic uses the listed rate only. It is a clean illustration of why the funding choice matters more than the platform choice for smaller, regular buyers.

On the way out, the SEPA withdrawal fee of €1 is low, but the listed €80 minimum means small balances cannot be withdrawn in euro. If you plan to sell in small amounts, read the withdrawal screen before you fund the account.

Mistakes to avoid

Three recur. People assume "registered with the Central Bank" means "authorised under MiCA by the Central Bank", when the 2024 registration was the earlier, narrower regime. People mix the exchange with the app's other products and assume a single set of protections applies to all of them; Crypto.com's own page says it does not. And people read "over 400 coins" as a quality signal, when a long list mostly means more coins with thin liquidity and little scrutiny. If you are tempted by a coin you have not heard of, check its white paper and its risk warnings first.

Who it suits, and who it does not

Suits

  • People who want a very wide list of coins from a MiCA-authorised provider.
  • Those who fund by SEPA and so avoid the 3.99% card cost.
  • Readers who already use the wider payments ecosystem and have confirmed Irish availability of what they want.

Does not suit

  • Small, regular buyers who would fund by card.
  • Anyone who wants an Irish-authorised entity.
  • Anyone who assumes the earn products carry the same protections as the exchange.

How to verify this yourself

Open the EEA licences page and the fees and limits page from your own connection, since fees can vary by location. Search ESMA's register for Foris DAX. Read the Central Bank's note on VASPs and MiCAR to see why the 2024 registration no longer counts for much. If a different exchange is on your mind, our Binance page explains why it is a harder question, and our comparison of exchanges for Ireland puts Crypto.com in context.

This is general information, not personal financial, tax or legal advice. Crypto can lose value quickly.

Sources and further reading

  1. Crypto.com – EEA home page and disclaimers
  2. Crypto.com – EEA licences
  3. Crypto.com – EEA fees and limits
  4. Crypto.com Help – retail EUR deposit and withdrawal via SEPA
  5. Crypto.com – Central Bank of Ireland VASP registration announcement (June 2024)
  6. ESMA – interim MiCA register of CASPs (CSV)
  7. Central Bank of Ireland – impact of MiCAR on VASPs

Facts last checked 5 October 2026Published 5 October 2026How we research

Risk warning. Crypto-assets are volatile and you can lose all the money you put in. They are not covered by the Irish Deposit Guarantee Scheme. This page is general information, not financial or tax advice.

Quick answers

Questions people ask

Is Crypto.com available in Ireland?

Yes, at the time we checked. Crypto.com's help centre lists the Republic of Ireland among countries for euro SEPA deposits and withdrawals, and the ESMA register lists Ireland in the service countries of Foris DAX MT Limited. Availability of individual products, such as the Visa card, was not confirmed for Ireland.

Is Crypto.com regulated in Ireland?

Not under MiCA by the Central Bank of Ireland. The MiCA authorisation is held by Foris DAX MT Limited and granted by Malta's MFSA, passported into Ireland. In June 2024 Crypto.com announced a Central Bank VASP registration, which was an anti-money-laundering registration that did not carry passporting rights.

How much are Crypto.com's fees in euro?

The EEA fee page lists SEPA deposits at 0% and card, Apple Pay and Google Pay deposits at 3.99% (headline up to 4%), with a 0.8% buy, sell and exchange fee. We did not confirm how those two combine on a card purchase, so use the order preview in the app to see the euro you would receive.

How many coins does Crypto.com offer?

Crypto.com's app buy section says over 400 supported cryptocurrencies. That is the company's own figure from the app, and the list changes. Each coin has its own white paper and risk profile, and a long list is not a sign of quality. Check any coin you plan to buy independently.

Does Crypto.com's earn product count as MiCA-regulated?

Crypto.com's own page says Earn and Staking and the OnChain Wallet are not regulated under MiCA. That is why this review does not cover them. If you use them, the protections described for the exchange do not necessarily apply, so read the separate terms.

Can I withdraw euro to my Irish bank?

Yes by SEPA. The fee page lists a €1 SEPA withdrawal fee, with a minimum of €80 and a maximum of €100,000 a day and €500,000 a month. Those figures are as listed on 5 October 2026 and can change, so check the withdrawal screen. Names on the bank account must match your verified identity.

Compare before you commit Open an account →