Exchanges

Crypto exchange fees in Ireland, worked out in euro

What buying €100, €1,000 or €10,000 of crypto actually costs on the exchanges Irish users ask about, using published figures with their dates and caveats.

Status check, 5 Oct 2026: CEX.IO says it is not onboarding new EU/EEA customers while its MiCA application is under review in Spain, so confirm availability for Irish residents first. Crypto is high-risk and you can lose all the money you put in. Read our status notes.

Founded 2013PCI DSS Level 1 certificate (Mar 2026)UK FCA-registered · US FinCEN MSB
Calculator on a desk next to tax paperwork
On this page
  1. Spread, fee, maker and taker: four different costs
  2. Card, SEPA or Apple Pay
  3. The fee grid, with sources
  4. Euro worked examples
  5. Taking crypto out: withdrawal and network fees
  6. CEX.IO: listed fees, with a status note
  7. Cutting what you pay, within the rules
  8. Fees and your tax records
  9. Common mistakes

Buying €1,000 of crypto in Ireland can cost anywhere from under €1 to around €47 in fees, depending almost entirely on how you pay. A free SEPA bank transfer followed by an order-book trade at roughly 0.1% to 0.25% sits at the bottom. A card deposit stacked on a one-click buy sits at the top. The figures below come from company pages we read on 5 October 2026, each labelled with its source and its weaknesses, because fee pages change and some of ours are archived copies.

If you want the licensing side first, start with our exchange comparison. This page deals only with money: what is charged, where it hides, and what it adds up to in euro.

Spread, fee, maker and taker: four different costs

People compare "fees" as if it were one number. It is at least four.

A fee is a line item: 1%, 0.25%, €3. It appears on the order preview or in your history. A spread is the gap between the buy price and the sell price, and it is baked into the quote, so no line shows it. Kraken's fee page says plainly that its quick buy and sell product carries the 1% fee plus a spread that varies with volatility, asset and size. Bitstamp's Basic Trading route lists a fixed 1.8% spread for crypto plus a further 0% to 0.5% volatility spread. Coinbase publishes no flat percentage on its help page; the amount is shown at order preview and the spread is included in the price.

A maker fee applies when your limit order sits in the order book and someone else matches it. A taker fee applies when you take an order already there, which is what a market order does. Makers pay less. Bitstamp's base tier is listed at 0.30% maker and 0.40% taker; OKX's at 0.08% and 0.10%; Bitvavo's, from an archived page, at 0.15% and 0.25%.

Then there is the funding cost: whatever it costs to get euro onto the exchange in the first place. On card routes this often dwarfs the trading fee. Finally, there are withdrawal and network fees when you take crypto out.

The lesson is to compare what lands in your account. Put in €1,000, see how much bitcoin you end up with, and compare that, not the label.

Card, SEPA or Apple Pay

Almost everywhere the pattern is the same. Paying by bank transfer is free or nearly free. Paying by card is where the percentages arrive, because the exchange passes on card-processing costs and adds margin.

SEPA deposits are listed as free at Kraken, Coinbase, Bitpanda, Bitstamp, OKX and Crypto.com, and as 0% at Bitvavo (archived page). Bybit EU says it charges no exchange deposit fee for SEPA, though payment-service fees can apply. The catch is time. Coinbase lists one to three business days for SEPA. Bitstamp says its faster SEPA deposits are only for a handful of countries, not including Ireland. Kraken lists SEPA and a near real-time variant, which is worth checking against your own bank. Our guide to paying by bank transfer covers the Irish side of that, and the card guide covers what your own card issuer might add on top. Bitstamp itself warns that your card issuer may charge additional fees.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are card payments in a nicer wrapper. Bybit EU lists them at 1.8% plus €0.24, against 1.1% for an EU-issued Visa or Mastercard. Crypto.com lists 3.99% for Apple Pay, the same as cards. Bitvavo's archived page shows Apple Pay at 0%, which is unusual and exactly the kind of figure to re-check live. Kraken's Apple Pay and Google Pay support is in its app only, with the percentage not stated on the page we read.

The fee grid, with sources

ExchangeCard or Apple Pay (listed)Trading fee (listed)Source and caveat
KrakenCard about 3.75% plus €0.25; Apple/Google Pay in app, % not statedQuick buy/sell 1% plus spread; Pro base tier 0.40% maker / 0.80% takerKraken fee schedule and deposit page, 5 Oct 2026. Page was geo-served; Pro base tier was 0.25% / 0.40% in older pricing, so confirm from an Irish connection.
CoinbaseShown at order previewShown at order preview; spread includedCoinbase help centre (read via proxy). Irish per-method percentages not confirmed.
BitpandaIssuer fees shown at payment; PayPal 1.49% third-partyBTC about 0.99%; other coins 1.49%, small caps up to 2.49%; Fusion from 0.25%Cost transparency document v4.0.0, 8 July 2026. Table extraction was partly ambiguous; BTC and top tier are firm.
BitstampAbout 4% (card, Apple/Google Pay)Pro 0.30% / 0.40% below $10k 30-day volume; Basic spread 1.8% plus 0 to 0.5%Bitstamp fee schedule, read via proxy, 5 Oct 2026.
BitvavoCard 1.00%; Apple Pay 0%; PayPal 2.00%0.15% maker / 0.25% taker at base tierArchived official page, 13 Nov 2025. Live page blocked automated checks. Re-check.
RevolutPaid from your Revolut balanceFrom 1.49% on Standard and Plus; 0.99% Premium and Metal; 0.49% UltraArchived Irish pricing page, 15 Mar 2026; tier table from a 2025 copy. Exchange-rate caveat on the page.
Bybit EUEU card 1.1%; Apple/Google Pay 1.8% plus €0.240.25% unified rate at base tier from 5 Oct 2026 (was 0.25% taker / 0.10% maker)Bybit EU fee and card FAQ pages. New schedule took effect on the day we checked.
OKXCard 1.99% (EUR)0.08% maker / 0.10% takerOKX EEA help article (updated 2 Oct 2026) and fee page. Header labels on the fee data were inferred.
Crypto.comCard and Apple/Google Pay 3.99%0.8% on buy/sell/exchangeCrypto.com EEA fees and limits page. Spread not stated.
CEX.IO0.49% to 4.99% plus service charge (global page)0.25% default tierCEX.IO global fee schedule, not EEA-specific. See note below: EEA deposits are currently disabled.

Euro worked examples

These examples use the listed figures above and show fees only. Spread is excluded because it is not published as a fixed number, so real cost will be higher. Amounts are rounded. "Order-book" means a limit or market order at the base fee tier; larger monthly volume lowers some of these rates.

Buying €100

Bank transfer, order book: OKX €0.08 to €0.10; Bitvavo €0.15 to €0.25; Bybit EU €0.25; Bitstamp Pro €0.30 to €0.40; Crypto.com €0.80.

Bank transfer, one-click buy: Bitpanda BTC €0.99; Kraken €1.00; Bitstamp Basic €1.80 or more.

Card: Bybit EU €1.10; Revolut from €1.49; OKX €1.99; Crypto.com €3.99; Bitstamp €4; Kraken about €5 (deposit plus buy fee).

Buying €1,000

Bank transfer, order book: OKX €0.80 to €1.00; Bitvavo €1.50 to €2.50; Bybit EU €2.50; Bitstamp Pro €3 to €4; Crypto.com €8.

Bank transfer, one-click buy: Kraken €10; Bitpanda BTC €9.90 (Fusion 0.25% is €2.50); Bitstamp Basic €18 or more.

Card: Bybit EU €11 (Apple/Google Pay €18.24); Revolut from €14.90; OKX €19.90; Bitstamp €40; Crypto.com €39.90 before trading fee; Kraken about €47.

Buying €10,000

Bank transfer, order book: OKX €8 to €10; Bitvavo €15 to €25; Bybit EU €25; Bitstamp Pro €30 to €40 at base tier; Kraken Pro €40 to €80 at base tier; Crypto.com €80.

Bank transfer, one-click buy: Bitpanda BTC €99; Kraken €100; Bitstamp Basic €180 or more.

Card: Bybit EU €110; Revolut from €149; Bybit Apple/Google Pay €180.24; OKX €199; Kraken about €471; Bitstamp €400; Crypto.com €399.

A few honest notes on those numbers. Kraken's card figure adds the deposit fee (3.75% plus €0.25) to a 1% buy fee on what is left, which is why it lands above Bitstamp's flat 4%. Crypto.com's card figure is the deposit rate alone; its page also lists a 0.8% trading fee on buy, sell and exchange, and we could not confirm whether the two stack on a single purchase, so the worst case is higher. Revolut's rate is the first-tier figure and falls with 30-day volume and plan. Bybit EU lists a maximum per card transaction of $10,000, so a €10,000 card payment may need splitting, and Bitvavo's archived page shows a €10,000 cap on card and Apple Pay payments.

Look at the shape rather than any single cent. Between the cheapest and dearest route, a €1,000 purchase differs by roughly €46. On €10,000 that gap passes €460. That is the cost of choosing a route out of habit.

€0.80lowest listed fee on €1,000 (OKX maker, order book)
about €47highest on our list for €1,000 (Kraken card route)

Taking crypto out: withdrawal and network fees

Moving crypto to a wallet involves a network fee paid to the blockchain, and sometimes an exchange processing fee. We did not find a fixed euro figure we could stand behind for any platform, because network fees move with congestion. What the sources do say: Bitstamp lists crypto deposits as free and withdrawals as a variable network fee plus processing; Bitvavo (archived) lists crypto deposits as free and withdrawal fees as varying by asset; Trade Republic says it adds no fee of its own to external wallet transfers, only the network cost.

Euro withdrawals have their own prices. Bitstamp lists a SEPA withdrawal at €3.00. Crypto.com lists €1.00, with a minimum of €80 per withdrawal as listed. Coinbase lists SEPA as free in both directions. Bitpanda publishes its per-coin costs, and its support pages say it charges no fee on SEPA deposits or withdrawals.

One cost people meet only once: sending to the wrong network. Bitvavo's archived fee page lists a €50 administration fee for recovering deposits made on the wrong network. Send a small test amount first, then the rest. See wallets for Irish users for the self-custody side.

CEX.IO: listed fees, with a status note

CEX.IO's global fee page lists a free SEPA deposit, a €2.99 SEPA withdrawal, spot trading from 0.25%, and card or Apple/Google Pay deposits from 0.49% to 4.99% plus a service charge. It also lists a PayPal route at 3.99% plus $5. These are not EEA-specific figures, and they do not describe a service you can currently use from Ireland: CEX.IO says it is not onboarding new EU/EEA users, existing EEA accounts are withdrawal-only, and its Spanish entity's MiCA application is under review with the CNMV. It is not on the ESMA register. The status is set out on its EEA legal page, and our CEX.IO review for Irish readers keeps the current position.

Cutting what you pay, within the rules

None of this needs cleverness. Pay by SEPA where you can. Use a limit order if you are not in a hurry, since makers pay less than takers. Read the final quote, including the amount of crypto you will receive, before pressing confirm. Avoid buying and selling the same day, because a round trip pays the spread and fees twice. And ask whether the exchange you like has a lower-fee mode: Kraken's Pro order book, Bitpanda's Fusion tier at 0.25% from the €0 volume band, or Bybit EU's volume tiers.

Selling carries its own costs too, covered in how to sell crypto in Ireland.

Fees and your tax records

Fees matter twice. First, they reduce what you get. Second, they belong in your records. Revenue's manual says to keep records for six years and gains are worked out per asset, disposal by disposal. Capital Gains Tax on crypto disposals is 33%, with the first €1,270 of gains each year exempt. Budget 2027 is on 6 October 2026, so re-check the rates afterwards. Our crypto tax pillar page explains the rest. We cannot tell you how a given fee should be treated in your own return; a tax adviser can.

Common mistakes

Comparing a maker fee on one exchange with a taker fee on another. Reading "0% fee" as "free", when the spread carries the cost. Using a card for a large purchase because the exchange's app offered it first. Forgetting that a €10 minimum order makes tiny test buys cost proportionally more. Assuming that a figure from last year's review is still right. And ignoring the exchange's own fee page in favour of a comparison site, including this one: we link every source above so you can check us.

Fees are not the whole decision. Authorisation, withdrawal rules and support matter as much, and our exchange comparison puts them next to each other. This is information, not advice, and it is not a recommendation to buy.

Sources and further reading

  1. Kraken – fee schedule — Page served with Ukrainian geo; Irish-IP figures unconfirmed
  2. Kraken – cash deposit options and fees
  3. Bitstamp – fee schedule
  4. Bitpanda – cost transparency, crypto assets (v4.0.0, 8 July 2026)
  5. Bitvavo – fees (archived copy, 13 November 2025)
  6. Bybit EU – trading fee structure
  7. Bybit EU – bank card payments FAQ
  8. OKX – fees (EEA)
  9. Crypto.com – EEA fees and limits
  10. Revolut – Ireland pricing plans (archived copy)
  11. CEX.IO – fee schedule
  12. Revenue – Taxation of crypto-asset transactions (TDM 02-01-03)

Facts last checked 5 October 2026Published 5 October 2026How we research

Risk warning. Crypto-assets are volatile and you can lose all the money you put in. They are not covered by the Irish Deposit Guarantee Scheme. This page is general information, not financial or tax advice.

Quick answers

Questions people ask

What is the difference between a spread and a fee?

A fee is a separate line item, such as 1% or €0.25. A spread is the gap between the price at which you can buy and the price at which you can sell, and it is built into the quote. Many apps say 'no fee' while earning from the spread, so compare the final amount of crypto you receive, not the fee label.

What do maker and taker mean?

On an order-book exchange, a maker places an order that waits in the book (a limit order that does not match immediately) and a taker removes an order already there (a market order). Makers usually pay less. Bitstamp's base tier, for instance, is listed at 0.30% maker and 0.40% taker.

Is paying by card really that much dearer than a bank transfer?

On the published figures, yes. Kraken lists card deposits at about 3.75% plus €0.25, Bitstamp at about 4% and Crypto.com at 3.99%, while SEPA deposits are listed as free on all three. Bybit EU (1.1%) and OKX (1.99%) are lower on cards, but still more than a bank transfer.

Do I pay extra to withdraw crypto to my own wallet?

Usually you pay the blockchain network fee, which varies with congestion, and some exchanges add a processing fee. Bitstamp lists a variable network fee plus processing, and Bitvavo says withdrawal fees vary by asset. Trade Republic states it adds no fee of its own. Check the exact amount on the withdrawal screen before confirming.

Can I deduct exchange fees from my crypto tax?

Revenue's manual says costs and fees are relevant when computing a gain, although its worked examples ignore them. In general, the costs of acquiring and disposing of an asset reduce the chargeable gain. Keep every fee record for at least six years and ask a tax adviser how to apply it to your situation.

Why are some of these fees marked archived?

Bitvavo's and Revolut's live fee pages blocked our automated checks, so those numbers come from Internet Archive copies of the official pages. They may be out of date. Kraken's fee page was also served as if from another country. We have flagged each case rather than present it as current.

Compare before you commit Open an account →